“Can You Be Cured?”

All About Autism

One of the questions that I’m almost always asked when I talk about autism is: “Is there a cure?” Because it’s important to note that autism is a spectrum disorder and that there are children who are very mildly impacted by autism, as well as those who are moderate to severely impacted, I’m very cautious in my response. I have talked with many parents who have told me their child was “cured” after intensive ABA training. Certainly, I would not dispute their claims; however, I personally believe that there is not a cure for autism, in the conventional sense of the word “cure.” preschooler-messy-art-day

A recent research study looked at 570 children living in New York between the years 2003-2013. All the children had been diagnosed with ASD around 2 ½ years of age. However, 7% (38 children) showed no signs of autism by the time they were 6 years old…

View original post 106 more words

One thought on ““Can You Be Cured?”

Leave a Reply

