I’m not doing anything…just talking about being a survivor!

I'm Not Doing Anything...

I’m a survivor.  It is weird to say now and it was definitely weird to say twelve years ago.  That’s when I was sitting in a group therapy session with ten other women, talking about how we all survived sexual abuse.  My therapist had suggested it and I agreed to try it.  I was pretty low at that time in my life.  And when I say low, I mean hiding-in-my-closet-crying-hysterically-for-hours low.  I mean panic-attacks-at-the-flower-show low.  I was in my mid twenties and I felt like it was time I actually did something about my “issues”.

When I was a little girl, I had this stepfather.  I won’t go into the dirty details, but he molested me.  I have this amazing psyche that lets me block out a lot of the memories, but my dumb body doesn’t forget.   I have body memories.  It’s kind of like a flashback, but in my…

View original post 502 more words

Leave a Reply

