My father said to me a lifetime ago “real relationships are built on shared experiences”

lifeonmarrs

As I watch my oldest son, I can hear those words flying through my head…

Danny shares things with us.

We don’t have the “he experienced” while “I was sitting next to him experiencing the same thing”….we actually share the experience.
He looks to us with excitement.

And joy.

And hugs.

Everything that I would hope that my father wished for me another lifetime ago ….and, more importantly, all the hopes I shared with Anna as she intoduced this new rdi therapy forever ago when d was a toddler that I wished for him.

“If we can only get two of the three deficits of autism, I don’t care if he never speaks….he will, at least, have friends”

(As I was never concerned about his level of intelligence)

He is completely capable of connecting with anyone who takes the time…..

All it takes is the slowing down and appreciating the…

View original post 3 more words

Leave a Reply

