A World Of Silence – Selective Mutism

One Vision

Have you ever had a dream where you try to scream and can’t? Can you imagine that feeling in everyday life? I can and I did most days. From the age of 3 I have suffered from a condition which I never knew the name of or indeed had a diagnosis for. Years later at the age of 33 I finally found out. I had been suffering from a condition called Selective Mutism. Finally I had a name and could answers for a LOT of things that plaqued me growing up.

It appears to be rather common but not well known condition. Unfortunately for me and many others there is never a diagnosis believing it only to be extreme shyness. If left untreated it can lead to further problems. For me it has improved but I still have social anxiety which means I cannot feel as comfortable as others in social gatherings…

View original post 216 more words

Leave a Reply

