Being my own hero.

Soulful Serenity Seeker

wonder woman

I’ve always found that days set aside for specific celebrations leave such a gap vacant which can cause problems, pain, or both. Take Valentine’s Day for example. I recall in my younger adult life the heartache of being alone surrounded by those who had found love. I dreaded seeing the advertising and merchandise- the pinks, reds and purples that filled department stores made me sick with loneliness. To this day, I make a point of not celebrating Valentine’s Day with my husband because I love him everyday- not just on February 14. I also feel like it’s my way of having the backs of those who find themselves alone on Valentine’s Day. I was once where they are. Besides- Valentine’s day is super tacky!

Mother’s Day was usually confusing to me when I was a child. Unfortunately, Mom’s Mother died when she was just 13 years old. Mother’s Day for…

View original post 388 more words

Leave a Reply

