Summer Camps and Autism, UGH!!

Life With Autism

Here we go again with the summer and I am reminded again that my son has autism.  He is a different kind, more like Asperger’s Syndrome.  In other words, he fits in with other kids well enough for people to think that he’s “normal,” but he’s different enough for people to get impatient and annoyed.  This does not happen often, but then again I don’t tend to surround myself with people who don’t understand.

I am so grateful for all of the things that my son has learned to do and all that he has mastered.  I know that he still has a ways to go, but I acknowledge that there are parents out there who have children on the spectrum that are nonverbal.  Again, I am beyond grateful for his progress.  Still, there are times when I wish for his sake that he was just like the other kids. …

View original post 292 more words

Leave a Reply

