Day #290 – Breaking Bad

366 Days of Autism

When Tucker was young someone told me that I needed to ‘break him’ of ‘that.’  I don’t even remember what ‘that’ was – but now I’m positive it was spectrum related.

Was it because he bolted and ran when he should have stood beside me?
Was it because he threw himself on the ground if it was too noisy?
Was it because he stood on everyone’s feet?
Was it because he wouldn’t let go of me?
Was it because he would scream uncontrollably if the ‘plan’ changed?
Was it because he would run and jump on the couch over, and over, and over again?
Was it because he would scream if the food felt funny in his mouth?

PD_0103

I don’t know what it was – but I do know that it sounded awful to me.

Break him? What exactly did that mean?

Break him of his energetic, fantastic spirit?  Break…

View original post 659 more words

Leave a Reply

