Glad, Sad, Or Mad- Out Of The Mouths Of Babes

Take a Ride on My Mood Swing

Towards 11 am today my kid starts looking at me. I’m just sitting here, watching Grey’s Anatomy and she asks, “Are you glad, Mommy?” I said no. “Are you sad, Mommy?” I said no. “Are you mad, Mommy?” I said nope.

At which point she declared, “WELL, THOSE ARE YOUR ONLY OPTIONS, YOU HAVE TO BE SOMETHING.”

Oh, how I wish those three simple emotions were the only ones in my emotional repertoire. With bipolar, you often feel so many emotions swirling like funnel clouds, you miss the simplicity of simply feeling pissed off or sad. I tried to explain to her, “I’m not mad or sad or glad, I’m just here. Nothing’s wrong, I’m fine.”

She proceeded to insist I had to choose one of the three options. Trying to talk her out of anything is as futile as banging your head against a brick wall. But she’s turning…

View original post 731 more words

Leave a Reply

