I Didn’t Know What To Call It

Living One Step At a Time

I can remember some of my first experiences with panic attacks. One of the earliest happened in second grade, if I remember correctly.

Although it’s slightly foggy in my mind, something had happened in the cafeteria with a few other girls (I think they may have cut me in the lunch line) and it triggered me into a panic attack. I felt like I couldn’t breathe. I thought I was going to die. But I had no idea what it was. They didn’t teach mental health to elementary schoolers. I asked a teacher who was supervising our lunch period for help, saying I felt like I couldn’t breathe, and I remember feeling so terrified. They eventual asked our principle to stop by and have a look at me. In the end, I didn’t feel helped at all. I’m not sure they actually knew what to do with me. So I…

View original post 286 more words

Leave a Reply

