“That Kid With OCD”

OCD In The Family

Image courtesy imagerymajestic @ freedigitalphotos.net Image courtesy imagerymajestic @ freedigitalphotos.net

I never heard the phone ring.  I’d been in the backyard feeding the box turtles when I heard a muffled male voice coming from inside the house.  I knew instantly it was the answering machine.

“… so if there’s anything you’d like me to know about your son…”

“Hi.  This is Angie.  I’m not sure who this is.  I just walked into the house.”

“I’m David, the EMT who will be traveling with Blake’s travel adventure camp.  I’m checking in with all the families where there may be possible medical concerns.  I see Blake takes Sertraline.  I want to be sure that he is healthy and see if there is anything I should know.”

“Oh yes, of course,” I say.  Then I launch into an explanation about how the medication is for OCD and what behaviors he might see.

“But, he’s medically healthy, right?” David…

View original post 413 more words

Leave a Reply

