The Quickest Way to Get Depressed

SierraRose

Years ago I had been a believer for about two years and was drowning in depression.  I was talking to my sister about this depression and she point blank asked me if there was sin in my life.  Why, yes, actually.  There was something I was doing that I felt convicted about but was doing anyways.  Because I was depressed.  Because God felt so far away.

It is a vicious cycle.  Life often disappoints.  “Hope deferred makes the heart sick…”  A sick heart, a.k.a. depression, can make us lose sight of the goodness of God and lead us to turn away, fueled by a lack of trust, and a feeling that we have to meet our own needs.  The more we harden our hearts towards God the less we feel his gentle leading and the more lost in depression we get.

Sin hardens the heart.  Hebrews 3:13  Sin acts as…

View original post 346 more words

Leave a Reply

