Wings

forget-me-not

Twilight is still mine

even though he is here now

and those dark days

       seem far enough     

             not to matter,

    

              they still do.

I have to catch my breath

   when harsh words

               flow back

even though

  the bars are non-existent

and those ugly sneered consonants

    once spat in moments of rage

       dissipated

            with images of you.

      On those days

when light peeks in

just enough to make me smile,

  and cardinal feathers

         leave a trail of hope

             for waking lashes to follow,

I tuck my tears

  in his wings of humility
                  and pretend you never happened

~

View original post

Leave a Reply

